Hi friends. It’s almost Friday and I’m so excited for the weekend! It’s been one of those weeks where I’ve been cruising through the days wondering if I’ve actually gotten any work done. Ha! Summer vacation can’t get here soon enough. Daniel is almost finished with graduate school (NEXT WEEK Y’ALL) so please keep him (and me) in your prayers as he prepares for his upcoming exams.

OK! Now for the reason you’re reading this…a few years ago I decided to make a change to my lifestyle. From eating processed junk, fast food, and ice cream almost every day I decided it was time for a change. I started getting back into weight lifting and taking better care of my body. That meant I needed to start cooking my own meals as often as possible. One of the first recipes I made was a ground turkey and quinoa bowl. It’s pretty simple really, and quite delicious.

Here’s the recipe for a total of 7 meals:

2 cups of quinoa
2 lbs of ground turkey
2 bunches of thin asparagus spears, trimmed
2 bunches of broccoli, cut into florets
Splash of olive oil
Salt and pepper
Optional: ground red pepper (spicy!)

Begin by adding 2 cups of quinoa to 4 cups of water and bring to a boil. Once at a boil, turn the heat down to low and let simmer (covered) for about 20 minutes until the water has evaporated. Next, cut up the asparagus stems, add a splash of olive oil to the frying pan, and heat the asparagus on medium high until cooked thoroughly adding salt and pepper for taste (~15 minutes). Add the ground turkey to another frying pan and turn the heat up to medium high, mixing until fully cooked (no pink at all). Sprinkle salt and pepper. Optional: cover the top with ground red pepper and stir. After fully cooked, you can drain the water out of the pan. Next, once the asparagus is cooked, add it to the ground turkey and mix together. Then, stir in the quinoa. Once everything is mixed, leave it out to cool for a few minutes and then separate it out into containers. Lastly, toss the cut up broccoli in a microwavable container (with 1/4 cup of water) and put a lid on it and heat for 5 minutes. I add this to the top of the meal to keep it extra fresh and fluffy because everyone knows soggy broccoli is EW.

I hope you enjoy this filling and nutritious meal prep! BTW adding yellow mustard on top is really good.

Have a great weekend. xo

-Melinda

Image result for veggie jokes

2 thoughts on “This Week’s Meal Prep: Ground Turkey and Quinoa Bowl

  1. I was doing really well with teh meal prep for awhile but then I just *shit the bed* love this idea though, I may have to try it out! Also LOL at the little joke at the end.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. LOL!! Meal prepping is honestly the only way I’ll eat healthy! I HAVE to prepare it beforehand or else give me all the chips and salsa, plz. Haha. I have faith in you, you can do it! Thanks for reading ❤

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment